Carl H. Hahn

Memoirs

Book jacketCarl H. Hahn - Meine Jahre mit Volkswagen, Signum Verlag, 2005
Published by Signum Verlag, 2005

Hahn devoted his professional life to the automotive industry and, for half a century played a decisive role in the shaping of Volkswagen's development. Under his guidance the company grew into Europe's biggest automobile corporation, globally positioned for the world of the 21st century. His book entitled "Meine Jahre mit Volkswagen"("My Years with Volkswagen") is thus more than an autobiography, more than a collection of memoirs.

The book provides the millions of automobile fans - especially, of course, those of Volkswagen, Audi, Seat and Skoda - with a wealth of historical details on these leading brands. At the same time it recounts an exemplary policy of globalization and divisionalization which made Volkswagen Group the key economic factor in many countries and created tens of thousands of jobs at national and international levels. There were many other companies too, for which this policy opened up new opportunities in the global markets.

The book is a unique source of information for everyone interested in economic backgrounds in general and in particular in the automobile industry - and is also interesting for the general public.

Carl H. Hahn – "My Years with Volkswagen"; Book jacket, Chinese, Czech and Russian versions

December 2007 saw Carl H. Hahn's memoirs published in the People's Republic of China. The official book launch took place in the presence of the author and attracted wide and positive press coverage. In addition, Russian and Czech-Slovak editions of the memoirs have been published.

Illustration Book Cover - Carl H. Hahn - DKW-HahnDKW-Hahn – Ein Manager und Unternehmer der deutschen Kraftfahrzeugindustrie (DKW-Hahn – a manager and entrepreneur of the German automotive industry)
Carl H. Hahn, Peter Kirchberg
Published by Verlag Heimatland Sachsen e. K. Chemnitz, 2016

On the occasion of his 90th birthday, Carl H. Hahn junior – in collaboration with Peter Kirchberg – published a book entitled “DKW­ Hahn” about his father who had gained fame as the “motor” of DKW. Based in Zschopau/Germany, the company advanced in the 1920s to become the world’s biggest motorcycle producer. Hahn senior was one of the co-founders of Auto Union, which was formed from the amalgamation of Audi, Wanderer, Horch and DKW in 1932 in the wake of the world economic crisis.

In founding DKW Auto Union in Ingolstadt after World War II, Hahn senior – together with Richard Bruhn – laid the foundations for what today is Audi AG and for the ascent of Ingolstadt to become one of Germany’s most prosperous cities. The industrial activities of Hahn senior are not limited to the automotive industry alone, however. The development of the “o.b.” tampon made him the creator of what became and today remains a world-renowned product.

“DKW-Hahn” not only provides an insight into a key part of the automotive history of the 20th century but also makes a case for the enduring relevance of human values, for cohesion in the family and the maintaining of its roots. The book also pays tribute to the achievements of the people of Saxony.

Carl H. Hahn

Memoiren

Buchfront - Carl H. Hahn - Meine Jahre mit VolkswagenCarl H. Hahn - Meine Jahre mit Volkswagen, Signum Verlag, 2005

Hahn hat sein berufliches Leben der Automobilindustrie verschrieben. Ein halbes Jahrhundert gestaltete er die Entwicklung von Volkswagen entscheidend mit. Unter ihm wuchs das Unternehmen zum größten Automobilkonzern Europas heran, global aufgestellt für die Welt des 21. Jahrhunderts. Sein Buch „Meine Jahre mit Volkswagen“ ist so auch mehr als eine Autobiografie, mehr als die Sammlung persönlicher Lebenserinnerungen.

Den Millionen Fans des Automobils, besonders natürlich von Volkswagen, Audi, Seat und Skoda liefert das Buch viele geschichtliche Details über diese großen Marken. Es beschreibt zugleich eine beispielhafte Strategie der Globalisierung und Divisionalisierung, die den Volkswagen-Konzern in vielen Ländern zum wichtigsten Wirtschaftsfaktor machte und im In- und Ausland Arbeitsplätze in großer Zahl geschaffen hat. Auch vielen anderen Unternehmen eröffneten sich im Sog dieser Politik neue Chancen in der Welt.

Für all jene, die an wirtschaftlichen Zusammenhängen im Allgemeinen und an der Automobilbranche im Besonderen interessiert sind, ist das Buch eine einzigartige Informationsquelle – interessant und spannend auch für ein breites Publikum.

Buchfront - Carl H. Hahn - Meine Jahre mit Volkswagen

Im Dezember 2007 wurden die Memoiren auch in der Volksrepublik China veröffentlicht. Die offizielle Markteinführung erfolgte im Beisein des Autors und fand in der Presse eine breite Resonanz. Darüber hinaus ist eine russische und tschechisch-slowakische Fassung der Memoiren erschienen.

Buchfront - Carl H. Hahn - DKW-HahnDKW Hahn – Ein Manager und Unternehmer der deutschen Kraftfahrzeugindustrie
Carl H. Hahn, Peter Kirchberg
Verlag Heimatland Sachsen e. K. Chemnitz, 2016

Anlässlich seines 90. Geburtstags veröffentlichte Carl H. Hahn Junior gemeinsam mit Peter Kirchberg unter dem Titel „DKW­ Hahn" ein Buch über seinen Vater, der als „Motor" von DKW bekannt geworden war. Das Unternehmen mit Sitz in Zschopau avancierte in den 20er Jahren des vergangenen Jahrhunderts in Rekordzeit zur größten Motorradfabrik der Welt. Als 1932 infolge der Weltwirtschaftskrise aus dem Zusammenschluss von Audi, Wanderer, Horch und DKW die Auto Union entstand, zählte Hahn Senior zu ihren Mitbegründern.

Presseverlautbarung - Carl H. Hahn - DKW-HahnMit der Gründung der DKW Auto Union in Ingolstadt nach dem Zweiten Krieg legte Hahn Senior gemeinsam mit Richard Bruhn den Grundstein für die heutige Audi AG und den Aufstieg Ingolstadts zu einer der wohlhabendsten Städte Deutschlands. Sein industrielles Wirken beschränkte sich jedoch nicht allein auf die Automobilindustrie. Mit der Entwicklung des „o.b“ wurde Hahn Senior zum Schöpfer eines Produkts von Weltrang bis zum heutigen Tag.

Der „DKW-Hahn" spiegelt nicht nur einen bedeutenden Teil der automobilen Geschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts wider, sondern ist auch ein Plädoyer für die Bedeutung menschlicher Werte, für den Zusammenhalt in der Familie und die Pflege ihrer Wurzeln. Das Buch würdigt zugleich die Leistungen der Menschen in Sachsen.